CFEclipse 1.3 Beta, time to get on board.

25Jun06

If your not using CFEclipse already, now is the time.

http://www.cfeclipse.org/beta
I've been using CFEclipse for a while now, two years or more. Not sure if that's a long time as far as CFEclipse goes? Have people been using it longer than this? I remember jumping from Eclipse 3.0 to 3.1, just recently jumping up to 3.2. I might add that Flex Builder 2 seems to work nicely with 3.2r7.

Back on to the world of CFEclipse, like I said I've been using it for a while, but there are couple of things that keep coming up at work. While I think the CFEclipse crew do a fantastic job, and I'm aware its a non-profit project. It seems the Coldfusion Syntax parser still needs a little work? I'm pretty sure the guys are aware the parsers arn't as stable as they could be, with reported errors on strange things like "url is compulsory for the <cflocation> tag. I don't want to upset anyone and I think the team are doing a great job, all I want to do, is request that maybe a little bit more time be spent on the parser, for things such as the code folding and in line (realtime) edit/parsing speed (seems a little slow) and syntax problems that arn't really problems.

I think that CFEclipse will attract more people when Flex Builder is release. Maybe another quick request to get more people using it. Make sure it runs on the released stand-alone version of Flex Builder, I think you'll get a few more people using it this way.

In the last two years I have been trying to convince friends and colleagues to use Eclipse, CFEclipse and Quantum DB. Finally it seems more and more people who I have been talking to are taking it on and using it, which I think is fantastic.

Once again I think the team are doing a great job, and I realise that its open source, so any thing I've said above are just some suggestions from a loyal fan. Keep up the good work guys.

No Responses Yet to “CFEclipse 1.3 Beta, time to get on board.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

